Departure for the 20th APEC Leaders’ Meeting in Vladivostok, Russia

President Benigno S. Aquino III left the country today onboard a charted plane to attend the 20th Asia Pacific Economic Cooperation (APEC) in Vladivostok, Russia.

In his message, President Aquino underscored the importance of such meeting to discuss relevant issues amongst nations, to streghten bilateral ties and cooperation.

“Pagkakataon din po ang pagpupulong na ito upang makipagdiyalogo sa mga bansang kalahok sa APEC, at higit pang patibayin ang ating ugnayan tungo sa kaunlaran. Bukod dito, may mga napapanahong isyu na hangad din nating idulog sa mga karatig bansang kasama sa summit,” the President said.

Upon his arrival in Russia, President Aquino will proceed to Far Eastern Federal University where the APEC Economic Leaders’ Meeting will be held. The President is scheduled for a bilateral meeting with Singapore Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong, Republic of Chile President Sebastian Pinera. He will also join the APEC Business Avisory Council (ABAC) Dialogue with Leaders where he will be joined by other APEC leaders including Republic of Chile President Sebastian Pinera, Japan Prime Minister Yoshihiko Noda and New Zealand Prime Minister John Key.

For this year, APEC leaders will concentrate on 4 priority areas: trade and investment liberation, regional economic integration, strengthening food security and establishing reliable supply chains, as well as cooperation to foster innovative growth. Country leaders will also meet wih members of the Business Advisory Council to discuss future work specified under the priority areas.

APEC is the premier forum for facilitating economic growth, cooperation, trade and investment in the Asia-Pacific region. Currently it is membered by 21 countries: Australia, Brunei Darussalam, Canada, Chile, People’s Republic of China, Indonesia, Japan, Republic of Korea, Malaysia, Mexico, New Zealand, Papua New Guinea, Peru, Philipines, Singapore, Chinese Taipei, Thailand, United State of America, Viet Nam and, this year’s APEC Chair, the Russian Federation.

February 8, 2016 09:39:41